proXPN Review

Founded in 2009, proXPN is a seasoned VPN provider that doesn't have a lot to show for it. Server locations are somewhat limited, its free account is lacking, and its encryption is embarrassingly bare-bones. However, it does try to make up for it with intuitive software and excellent customer service.

Our Score
2.8 / 5
Readers' Rating
1 / 5
Pricing
From $6.25/mo
Simultaneous connections
4
Server Locations
18 countries
Jurisdiction
Netherlands
Available on:
Visit proXPN

3 User Reviews

AJ
on 2020-07-30 12:11:33.
Overall score: 1
Absolutely horrible experience. Connection lost constantly. Asked for support, and their advice screwed up all my network connections. Eventually said it doesn't matter anyway because your subscription had run out - first I learned of that - so I resubscribed, hoping that would solve the problem. It didn't and I asked for a refund. They said I would receive a full refund, but that was a lie - I was ripped off. Avoid this VPN at all costs!
DKA
on 2020-07-29 05:49:01.
Overall score: 1
It appears proXPN has finally taken our money and ran. As of July 2020, all VPN services are not connecting on PC or mobile, and support site is gone.
John S Seymour
on 2020-07-04 03:03:45.
Overall score: 1
Wow. ProXPN is real a [email protected] company. The customer service is terrible, and the VPN service is even worse. They are just thieves stealing the money from the uninformed, and once you give then your card information you will be continually slammed into renewals. This company is truly not worth your time or the trouble. And once you give them your CC card information, you will be automatically renewed. Express VPN or Nord VPN are the big companies offering real and very high quality services. You have been warned!!!!! ProVPN will bend you over, and maybe offer a partial refund when you complain.
Show All User Reviews

Leave a Review - Step 1

Your comment has been sent to the queue. It will appear shortly.

Leave a Review - Step 2

Please tell us in more detail about this product

Speed
Customer Service
Unblocking
Country Choices
Ease of Use

Leave a Review - Step 3

Thanks for your review!

Alternative Choices for You

From $6.67
ProPrivacy.com Score 9.1 out of 10
Visit Site Read review
From $2.25
ProPrivacy.com Score 10 out of 10
Visit Site Read review
From $2.59
ProPrivacy.com Score 9.2 out of 10
Visit Site Read review

Features

proXPN was founded in 2009 in the Netherlands. The Dutch provider has 18 server locations, including European cities such as Paris, Frankfurt, Stockholm, and London. And more far-flung places like San Jose, Sydney, Hong Kong, Toronto, Japan, and five locations across the US.

  • No logs policy
  • Unlimited bandwidth
  • Kill switch
  • Servers in 14 countries
  • Software for all platforms (mobile app is PPTP only)
  • OpenVPN encryption
  • 30-day risk-free trial
  • Easy-to-use software
  • Excellent customer service
  • Basic free plan (highly restricted speeds and only one server location)
  • Unlimited data transfer and connection time for both free and paid users
  • Four simultaneous connection

Speed and Performance

The first thing to note is that the free plan has extremely throttled bandwidth (300 kbps). This makes it completely impossible to use it for streaming and other such purposes. 

We tested the premium version in a number of locations (Netherlands, UK, and US east coast) and found it to deliver reasonable, if not lightning fast speeds. ProXPN VPN was tested on a 30 Mbps connection and reduced speeds to around 17 Mbps in Europe and 12 Mbps on the US server. Upload speeds were pretty constant at about 2.5 Mbps. This means the VPN will be Ok for streaming particularly if you have fast internet in the first place. 

No IP leaks, DNS leaks, or WebRTC leaks were detected during my tests using ipleak.net. However, it is worth noting that an IPv6 connection was not tested because my ISP does not provide for it yet.

Price

proXPN keeps things simple by only offering two plans: Basic (free) and Premium. Premium is extremely over-priced considering what you get to show for it. 

The proXPN Premium plan starts at $6.25 per month (if purchased annually for $74.95).  Subscribers can also choose to pay $8.33 per month for a six-month subscription, and $9.98 per month for a three-month subscription. These prices are truly exorbitant; I can = literally think of tons of services that are cheaper and better in every possible way. Color me unimpressed. 

You can pay for proXPN VPN via Visa, MasterCard, PayPal, or by check.  Bitcoin and cash sent by mail are also options. proXPN provides subscribers with a risk-free 30-day money back guarantee.

Privacy and Security

Being based in the Netherlands is generally accepted as being a place that is good for data privacy. In addition to this, proXPN VPN has a zero logs policy, which means that it stores no usage or connection logs about what users do on the service. Sadly, however, the VPN does ask users to hand over a phone number in order to subscribe to the paid version. 

Encryption-wise, users are offered the choice between OpenVPN and PPTP (an outdated and insecure protocol we recommend against). Unfortunately, their OpenVPN protocol is implemented extremely weakly with a 512-bit cipher and a 2408-bit encryption key. The VPN also provides no perfect forward secrecy. 

The result is an extremely insecure VPN that is easy to hack and should not be considered secure for privacy purposes.

Final thoughts

proXPN is a well-established VPN that fails to deliver on almost every level. The VPN does not unblock popular services such as Netflix US, encryption is poor, and the help desk is not available via live chat support despite the premium cost of the VPN. In fairness the support I got via email was good, however, it was not 24/7 as advertised. 

The free version is unlimited and this makes it very interesting for people in crisis areas where the government is blocking unbiased news. However, because it is restricted to just 300 kbps it will not be suitable for any data-intensive tasks such as streaming. At the end of the day, this VPN is over-priced and it truly is a wonder that it has any subscribers left at all. Honestly, you would need to be mad to pay for this VPN

Visit proXPN

Written by: Ray Walsh

Digital privacy expert with 5 years experience testing and reviewing VPNs. He's been quoted in The Express, The Times, The Washington Post, The Register, CNET & many more. 

8 Comments

Ed Espiritu
on August 19, 2017
Reply
I managed to find a lifetime membership on Black Friday 2015 and having never used VPN before still found it easy to set up and use on Windows 7. I rarely use it on my home network, but it is always on at McDonald's and Starbucks type locations. I have experience no discrimination as a "lifetime" subscriber and improvement have been made over time. I never investigated the VPN guard feature until I heard about it here.
Bryan
on August 9, 2017
Reply
I see they do provide a free app in the (iOS) App Store. They don't do a good job of advertising the 30-day money back offer; is that still legit? Can any proXPN customers confirm if / how many cocurrent devices I can connect (I presume a Premium plan is required). By contrast, ExpressVPN clearly states a money back guarantee, and that I could use 3 devices simultaneously, for a competitive monthly rate.
Stan
on July 19, 2017
Reply
I've been using proXPN since 2015. I had to use the proXPN 24/7 support only 3 times and each time they responded very fast so I could fix the problem. IMO well worth the price.
Tom
on July 2, 2017
Reply
Good value for the low monthly fee
Show More Got Something to Say?

Write Your Own Comment

Your comment has been sent to the queue. It will appear shortly.

Your comment has been sent to the queue. It will appear shortly.

Your comment has been sent to the queue. It will appear shortly.

  Your comment has been sent to the queue. It will appear shortly.

We recommend you check out one of these alternatives:

The fastest VPN we test, unblocks everything, with amazing service all round

Longtime top ranked VPN, with great price and speeds

One of the largest VPNs, voted best VPN by Reddit

Strong presence, no-logs policy